Barbara Godard Prize for the Best York University Dissertation in Canadian Studies ($500)

Barbara Godard Dissertation Prize For the Best Dissertation on a Canadian Topic

The Robarts Centre for Canadian Studies offers a prize for the best dissertation on a Canadian topic each year. This award is offered in memory of a former colleague who made substantial contributions to the study of Canada. The criteria are as follows:
“This prize is awarded to the doctoral dissertation on a Canadian topic defended at York University in the course of the calendar year that best advances our knowledge of Canada. Special attention will be given to dissertations that transcend disciplinary boundaries and demonstrate innovation in thought and/or methodology.”
The wording of the criteria is not intended to exclude comparative studies.
The award is accompanied by a prize of $500. The winner of the Godard Prize will also be nominated for the dissertation prize of the Canadian Studies Network – Réseau d’études canadiennes.

We welcome one nomination from the graduate programme director of each graduate programme at York University. 

2021 Calendar Year
We will compile the pool of outstanding dissertations defended in the 2021 calendar year. Graduate Programme Directors please submit your nominations with:
* an electronic copy of the dissertation
* CV of nominee
* nominee’s York Student number and current email

Submit applications to by May 30, 2022.

Nomination deadline: 30 May 2022

For any question please email

Barbara Godard Dissertation Prize Winners

2020: Dr. Andrew Zealley (Environmental Studies) "Risky Beeswax: Artistic Responses to the Biopolitics of HIV/AIDS"

2019: Dr. Alan Ojiig Corbiere (History) "Anishinaabe Treaty-Making in the 18th- and 19th-Century Northern Great Lakes: From Shared Meanings to Epistemological Chasms

2018: Dr. Warren Bernauer (Geography) "Extractive Hegemony in the Arctic: Energy Resources and Political Conflict in Nunavut, 1970-2017"

2017: Dr. Parastou Saberi (Environmental Studies) "The 'Paris Problem' in Toronto: State, Space and the Political Fear of the Immigrant"

2016: Dr. Brittany Luby (History), "Drowned: Anishinabek Economies and Resistance to Hydroelectric Development in the Winnipeg River Drainage Basin, 1873 - 1975"

2015: Dr. Jane Griffith (Education), "News from School: Language, Time and Place in the Newspapers of 1890s Indian Boarding Schools in Canada"

2014: Dr. Ameil Joseph (School of Social Work), "Authorities on the Subject: Deportation and the confluence of violence within forensic mental health and immigration systems"

2013: Dr. Monique Giroux (Music), "Music, Power and Relations: Fiddling as Meeting Place between Re-settlers and Indigenous Nations in Manitoba"

Honourable Mention: Nelson Ferguson (Social Anthropology), "From Coal Pits to Tar Sands: Examining Labour Migration between the Athabasca Oil Sands and the Atlantic Canada Region"

2012: Dr. Jamie Yard (Social Anthropology), "Working Natures: An Ethnography of Love, Labour and Accumulation on the British Columbia Coast"